A Girl Called Eddy - Been Around

  • A Girl Called Eddy - Been Around

A Girl Called Eddy - Been Around


FormatCD & LP
Released17th January 2020
Catalogue ER1241
Barcode 8428846212418

A little more than a year ago Elefant released a very special album from a new project called The Last Detail - a super group, formed by Fugu and A Girl Called Eddy. Or in other words, Mehdi Zannad and Erin Moran. Elefant now bring us a second album from A Girl Called Eddy - Been Around.

Throughout her career A Girl Called Eddy (AKA Erin Moran)  has collaborated and provided vocals on projects as varied as Ron Sexsmith ('Exit Strategy Of The Soul'), Super Furry Animals, to French superstar Phillip Katerine's indie classic 'Parlez Vous Anglais, Mr. Katerine?'.

Her debut album saw her out on tour supporting acts as diverse as Josh Ritter, Rufus Wainwright, The Beautiful South and The Cure, and with that first record Moran has gathered a rather impressive list of fans: from Jane Birkin, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Tracey Thorn to Robert Smith, Don Henley, Jarvis Cocker and Burt Bacharach to name just a few. New album Been Around find her referencing her heroes from Laura Nyro, and Van Morrison, to Steely Dan and Prefab Sprout. It is a collection of songs that still sound completely her own, while bringing an essence of the past and real heart to the present - to a 21st century desperately in need of this kind of elegance, soul and inspiration, it is welcome indeed.

Morans debut was an album perhaps steeped in dark melancholy,  whereas this record seems to bathe in the warm yellow Kodachrome-glow of the best of the 1970's. A looking back, but not pastiche. A sense of genuineness and heart permeates every track.  Been Around is a record made with love, made the old-fashioned way.

Vinyl is limited edition white vinyl plus download.

1. Been Around
2. Big Mouth
3. Jody
4. Charity Shop Window
5. Someone's Gonna Break Your Heart
6. Not That Sentimental Anymore
7. Two Hearts
8. Lucky Jack (20-1)
9. Come To The Palisades!
10 Finest Actor
11 NY Man
12 Pale Blue Moon (Bonus Track)

A Girl Called Eddy - Been Around is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 17th January 2020 is estimated and subject to change.

Filed Under Indie & Alternative