Damien Rice - O

  • Damien Rice - O - Drift Records

Damien Rice - O


Released8th June 2018
Catalogue 190295740191
Barcode 190295740191

'O', originally released in the summer of 2002, was one of the last albums to build a true word-of-mouth following before widespread streaming. Peaking at #8 in the UK, the seminal'O' will be available on vinyl for the very first time on June 1st.

This version is extended to 16 tracks, and includes four additional recordings:
‘The Professor & La Fille Danse’ and ‘Moody Mooday’ were both originally B-sides to ‘The Blower’s Daughter’ – ‘Moody Mooday’ also appeared alongside ‘Lonelily’ as a limited edition 7” single release in 2004. ‘Woman Like A Man’ was recorded live in session at Galway Bay FM and was the lead track for the song’s single release. ‘Prague’ and ‘Silent Night’ (featuring Lisa Hannigan), which were hidden bonus tracks after the album’s closing song ‘Eskimo’, are also included.

All three of the singles from the album went on to chart upon release, with ‘The Blowers Daughter’, ‘Cannonball’ and ‘Volcano’ peaking at #27, #9 and #29 respectively. Along with being gold certified, ‘Cannonball’ has been subject to multiple cover versions, most notably by Little Mix after they won The X Factor in 2011.

'O' releases on double 180g vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve with lyrics and album artwork, including 4 additional tracks not on the original album.

Artist Damien Rice
Filed Under Indie & Alternative