Gabriel Garzón-Montano


  • Gabriel Garzón Montano - Agüita
2nd October 2020 / LP or CD / Jagjaguwar

Gabriel Garzón-Montano



French-Colombian via NYC multi-instrumental, multi-disciplined rapper & singer Gabriel returns for his second album of cross-genre, up-front pop jams.

The magic of 'Agüita' lives in Gabriel’s ability to consolidate a range of truths into a focused, crystallized idea.

On his album, the tracks “Bloom,” “Blue Dot,” and “Fields” compare the growth and loss inherent in human life with the changing of the seasons and the life cycles of the universe; on “Fields,” Garzón-Montano evokes the despondent whimper of Thom Yorke.

+ Indie version LP is pressed on limited opaque yellow coloured vinyl.

There are mirrors of the same themes in compositions like “With a Smile,” “Tombs,” “Someone,” and “Moonless,” a quartet of songs that explore the births and deaths of the relationships we have with the people we love; on “Moonless,” Gabriel explores for the first time his struggle with the grief of his mother’s passing: “Mama died / and I was moonless in a Stygian tide...trying to hide the ripening tumor / breathing fire, love but a rumour / There’s a woman in my sky / 17 when I learned to cry...” It is to his immense credit as a songwriter that we are left with an understanding of the depth of his loss, despite having never experienced it.

Equally impactful are the trap and reggaeton cuts – the album’s energetic high points. On “Agüita,” “Mira My Look,” and “Muñeca,” GGM delves into club-banger territory, performing in Spanish for the first time on record.

Whether you’re here for the medium, or for the message, for the man himself, or one of his characters, Agüita stands as the strongest installment thus far in a series of alarmingly sincere, sensationally profound works, from an artist who has sought not only to challenge established preconceptions and categories, but to expose their ultimate unworthiness.

From composition to execution, the product of his labour distills the essence of Gabriel Garzón-Montano’s genius, an uninterrupted creative process rare in this age of fattened album credits.

1. Tombs
2. With A Smile 
3. Muñeca 
4. Fields 
5. Mira My Look 
6. Moonless 
7. Someone 
8. Bloom 
9. Agüita 
10. Blue Dot (with Theo Bleckmann)

Format /LP or CD
Released /2nd October 2020
Catalogue / JAG368LP-C1
Barcode / 0656605236834
Label /Jagjaguwar
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.