Joanna Newsom - The Milk-Eyed Mender

  • Joanna Newsom - The Milk-Eyed Mender

Joanna Newsom - The Milk-Eyed Mender


FormatCD, LP or Tape
Released23rd March 2004
Catalogue DC263
Barcode 781484026310

+ Available on tape cassette format for the first time from 27th July, 2018. 'Have One On Me' and 'Ys' are also out as tapes on the same date.

'The Milk-Eyed Mender' is the debut studio album from American singer-songwriter Joanna Newsom, first released in March 2004 on the Drag City label.

Newsom wrote all the songs on the album except for 'Three Little Babes', which is a traditional Appalachian song by Texas Gladden. According to the  album liner notes, Newsom plays "a Lyon & Healy style 15 harp, a wurlitzer electric piano, a harpsichord and piano."

Joanna's music has more of an affinity with the folk revival of the 60s, or the bluegrass movement at present, than with most contemporary 'folk' (or 'anti-folk') scenes. Her harp arrangements are at times ethereal and delicate, at others galloping and ornate, but never overwrought.

1. 'Bridges and Balloons' - 3:42
2. 'Sprout and the Bean' - 4:32
3. 'The Book of Right-On' - 4:29
4. 'Sadie' - 6:02
5. 'Inflammatory Writ' - 2:50
6. 'This Side of the Blue' - 5:21
7. ''En Gallop'' - 5:07
8. 'Cassiopeia' - 3:20
9. 'Peach, Plum, Pear' - 3:34
10. 'Swansea' - 5:05
11. 'Three Little Babes' (Traditional) - 3:42
12. 'Clam, Crab, Cockle, Cowrie' 4:21

Artist Joanna Newsom
LabelDrag City
Filed Under Indie & Alternative