LCD Soundsystem - Sound of Silver (Repress]

  • LCD Soundsystem - Sound of Silver (Repress]

LCD Soundsystem - Sound of Silver (Repress]


Released9th September 2016
Catalogue 94638511410
Barcode 94638511410

Double LP repress on Rhino, includes poster. Worth every penny just for All My Friends, a superb album.

Sound Of Silver', the follow up to the massively acclaimed and eponymous debut, was recorded over the summer of 2006 in a farm in upstate New York by LCD main man James Murphy and the odd periodic visitor from the city (live band members Nancy Whang, Pat Mahoney & Tyler Pope). There, between the silver foil covered walls, nine tracks were crafted into what will surely become one of the pinnacle albums of 2007.

Far from the typical difficult second album that some might have expected, 'Sound Of Silver' takes the LCD Soundsystem we know and love, and shows their rebirth as a a great 'pop' band. Here, repetitive percussion, towering walls of sound, driven melodies, lyrical hooks and occasional abstract and detailed string orchestration combine to create a sound like no other. From the crushing barrage of first single and last track recorded for the set 'North American Scum' to the lounge piano of epic closer and twisted love ode to his hometown 'New York I Love But Your Bringing Me Down' via the cascading harmonics of 'Sound Of Silver' or 'Someone Great', this is the definitive sound of LCD Soundsystem...

1. Get Innocuous!
2. Time To Get Away
3. North American Scum
4. Someone Great
5. All My Friends
6. Us V Them
7. Watch The Tapes
8. Sound Of Silver
9. New York, I Love You But You're Bringing Me Down
Filed Under Electronic Music