Manic Street Preachers - Gold Against The Soul [2020 Remaster]

  • Manic Street Preachers - Gold Against The Soul [2020 Remaster]

Manic Street Preachers - Gold Against The Soul [2020 Remaster]


FormatLP or CD
Released12th June 2020
Catalogue 19439733611
Barcode 194397336115

After many hints and teases MANIC STREET PREACHERS confirmed the re-issue of a deluxe edition of their 1993 second album ‘GOLD AGAINST THE SOUL’ out via  Columbia Records.

+ LP version is housed in a printed inner sleeve and contains download codes to the original album, plus an album's worth of bonus tracks.

+ CD version is a deluxe, oversize, A4, 120-page, hardback artbook bundled with 2 CDs. 

There will be a 180g vinyl LP version of the original album with download codes to the extra tracks featured on the deluxe CD package and a digital version featuring all the songs.

The CD format is available as a 120 page A4 artbook featuring unseen images from the bands’ long time photographic collaborator Mitch Ikeda, many personally annotated by Nicky Wire and original typed and handwritten lyrics from the bands own archive. It will contain two CDs featuring the remastered album, previously unreleased demos, b-sides from the era, remixes and a live recording of The Clash song ‘What’s My Name’. 

Nicky Wire said of the release “We moved our studio a few years ago and I unearthed a lot of demos and pictures from the ‘Gold Against The Soul’ era and thought it would be a shame not to let them see the light of day. We haven’t always been the most complementary about this album in the past, but with hindsight it was a strange and curious record with many fan’s favourites on it. James always gets a huge response when he teases the riff to ‘Sleepflower’ live.”

‘Gold Against The Soul’ entered the Top 10 on release just over a year after their debut album ‘Generation Terrorists’ and saw the band shift musically to a classic rock sound. Lead single ‘From Despair To Where’ was followed by ‘La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh)’, ‘Roses In The Hospital’ and ‘Life Becoming A Landslide’. Produced by Dave Eringa who had been working in various guises with the band and continues to do so to this day, the album was recorded over six weeks at Outside/Hookend Studios.

+ LP version includes download of original album and all bonus tracks.

LP / CD1
1. Sleepflower
2. From Despair To Where
3. La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh)
4. Yourself
5. Life Becoming a Landslide
6. Drug Drug Druggy
7. Roses In The Hospital
8. Nostalgic Pushead
9. Symphony of Tourette
10. Gold Against The Soul
11. Donkeys
12. Comfort Comes
13. Are Mothers Saints
14. Patrick Bateman
15. Hibernation
16. Us Against You
17. Charles Windsor
18. Wrote For Luck
19. What's My Name (Live)

1. Sleepflower (House in the Woods Demo)
2. From Despair To Where (House in the Woods Demo)
3. La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh) (House in the Woods Demo
4. Yourself (Live In Bangkok)
5. Life Becoming a Landslide (House in the Woods Demo)
6. Drug Drug Druggy (House in the Woods Demo)
7. Drug Drug Druggy (Impact Demo)
8. Roses In The Hospital (House in the Woods Demo)
9. Roses In The Hospital (Impact Demo)
10. Nostalgic Pushead (House in the Woods Demo)
11. Symphony of Tourette (House in the Woods Demo)
12. Gold Against The Soul (House in the Woods Demo)
13. Roses In The Hospital (OG Psychovocal Remix)
14. Roses In The Hospital (51 Funk Salute)
15. La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh) (Chemical Brothers Vocal Remix)
16. Roses In The Hospital (Filet O Gang Remix)
17. Roses In The Hospital (ECG Remix) 

Manic Street Preachers - Gold Against The Soul [2020 Remaster] is currently priced at a special preorder rate and will revert to full price on release. The release date of 12th June 2020 is estimated and subject to change.

Filed Under Indie & Alternative