Moris Zekler

Fuzz & Soul Sega from 70's Mauritius

  • Moris Zekler - Fuzz & Soul Sega from 70's Mauritius
1st May 2020 / CD & LP / Born Bad

Moris Zekler

Fuzz & Soul Sega from 70's Mauritius


Created at the crossroads of Afro-Malagasy, the 70s strain fused Western and Indian cultures, pop, soul and funk arrangements, syncopated polyrhythms, saturated guitars, psychedelic organs and Creole vocals. Although the exact origins of sega remain unknown, it contains vocal and percussive practices that originated from Madagascar, Mozambique and East Africa. A social escape and a space for improvisation, satire and verbal jousting, it transcended everyday life and made room for the expression of conflicts and the transgression of taboos. The main instrument of sega is the ravanne, a large tambourine like drum made of a large wooden frame and goat skin. It is accompanied by the maravanne, a rectangular rattle filled with seeds, and other homemade forms of percussion.

Eric Nelson a solo guitarist and arranger, set up the band Features Of Life which, in the mid 70's, gave birth to a new sound. Fuzzy distorted guitars and funky beats invite each other to play over the unbridled beats created by fabulous drummer Raoul Lacariate. The band accompanied a new wave of singers, including the atypical Joseph Roland Fatime aka Ti L'Afrique, a hyperbolic and hyperactive character, a fan of blues and James Brown who launched an explosive raw, and funky style of sega.

1. Harold Berty - Django
2. Ti L'afrique - Pop Soul Sega
3. Claudio Veeraragoo - Qui Fine Arrivé
4. Paul Labonne - Ti Malgache Ti Madras
5. Georges Gabriel - Pop Séga
6. The Features Of Life - Soul Sabattah
7. Roland Fatime - S.I.L.V.I.E
8. Jean Claude Gaspard - Machin Sex
9. Jos Henri - Apolo Pop 76
10. Coulouce - Beau-Père
11. John Kenneth Nelson - Change To Manière/Missié Coutou No2
12. Lelou Menwar - Capito
13. Daniel Delord - Maria

Format /CD & LP
Released /1st May 2020
Catalogue / BB114CD
Barcode / 3521383460146
Artist / Moris Zekler
Label /Born Bad
Genre / Compilations
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.