Papa M - Highway Songs

  • Papa M - Highway Songs

Papa M - Highway Songs


InfoCD, LP & Tape11th November 2016

Highway Songs is the new studio album from Slint's David Pajo under his Papa M moniker. So into this guy, Whatever, Mortal is a Drift classic album.

David Pajo has been writing lines on the guitar since he was a bitty little kid. And now that he's grown up to be a bitty little man, what's he gonna do, change? If you think so, you don't know Pajo - or as he's been known to sometimes go, Papa M. The instrumental sounds he's made in the name of these names - on albums with names like Live From a Shark Cage and Whatever, Mortal - implied danger, violence and total alienation, alongside a peaceful, easy, good-willin' and wide streak of broke-toothed black humor. So, after those classic albums followed by a long silent phase, we've now got Highway Songs. With each encroaching moment of Highway Songs, it sounds to us more and more like good old Papa M, as David throws back the veil of tears from recent times to bear witness to miasmic mood-clouds passing not over but THROUGH him. Music from where the mind goes when the body is broken. Reflecting time spent hooked up to machines.

1 Flatliners
2 The Love Particle
3 Adore, A Jar
5 Coda
6 Walking On Coronado
7 Green Holler
8 Bloom
9 Little Girl

Artist Papa M
LabelDrag City