Penelope Isles - Until The Tide Creeps In

  • Penelope Isles - Until The Tide Creeps In

Penelope Isles - Until The Tide Creeps In


FormatCD & LP
Released12th July 2019
Catalogue BELLA861CD
Barcode 5400863008017

Penelope Isles, brother-sister-centred alt-rock quartet from Brighton (via Isle of Man/Devon) release debut album, Until the Tide Creeps In, through Bella.  Formed around the undeniable family chemistry between dual songwriters Jack and Lily Wolter, the quartet’s expansive DIY mix of translucent dream-pop, fuzz-rock guitars and indie-psych flushes comes lovingly dipped in exquisite harmonies and lustrous melodies: a combination so intuitive, it must be in their blood. Crisp and woozy, blissful and biting, it’s an album deepened by shared experience: experiences of, in Jack’s words, “leaving home, moving away, dealing with transitions in life and growing up. We are six years apart, so we had a different experience of some of this, but we share a similar inspiration when writing music. Family, leaving home, disconnection and connection all ring bells!”

Produced by Jack, the album was co-mixed by Iggy B (whose credits include The Duke Spirit, John Grant, Spiritualized and Lost Horizons) in London’s Bella Studios with a homegrown aesthetic and live clarity as guiding principles. The Line of Best Fit, DIY and Steve Lamacq (who hosted a recent Isles’ gig at SXSW for BBC6 Music) have all championed Isles’ bracing live form, where  song ‘Gnarbone’ has emerged as a show-stopper. “I wrote that song in a tiny cupboard room when I lived in Cornwall,” says Jack, “and it's funny to think how it's grown into such a beast.” From close-knit family ties to World stages, Penelope Isles’ growth curve is fast becoming a surge.

LP is on pink vinyl with download

1 Chlorine
2 Round
3 Not Talking
4 Underwater Record Store
5 Three
6 Gnarbone
7 Leipzig
8 Looking For Me Eyes First
9 Cut Your Hair
10 Through The Garden

Filed Under Indie & Alternative