TOY - Clear Shot

  • TOY - Clear Shot

TOY - Clear Shot


InfoCD & LP28th October 2016

Clear Shot is the new studio album from esteemed nouveau-krautrockers and Sea Change headliners, TOY.

Recorded with producer David Wrench towards the end of 2015 at Eve Studio, the track listing of the 10-track album is as follows:

1. Clear Shot
2. Another Dimension
3. Fast Silver
4. I’m Still Believing
5. Clouds That Cover The Sun
6. Jungle Games
7. Dream Orchestrator
8. We Will Disperse
9. Spirits Don’t Lie
10. Cinema

Splitting their time between Tom Dougall and bassist Maxim Barron’s place in New Cross and Dominic O’Dair’s flat in Walthamstow, where they set up a makeshift studio and laid down the early album demos, Clear Shot began to take shape in the first half of 2015.

Taking inspiration from an esoteric blend – Radiophonic Workshop, Comus, the scores of Bernard Herrmann, John Barry and Ennio Morricone Fairport, COUM, Acid House, Incredible String Band, The Langley Schools Project, The Wicker Man soundtrack and even the direction behind Electric Eden, Rob Young’s book about the development of folk music in the U.K. – by the time they entered Eve Studios in Stockport in October 2015 with producer David Wrench, the band were clear about the direction the album should take.

The result is their most coherent and confident album to date; lushly cinematic, shot through with their most expressive melodies thus far and coated with a ‘sheen’ courtesy of Chris Coady (Beach House, Smith Westerns, Yeah Yeah Yeahs), who mixed the album in LA with some of the reverbs and vocal processors used on Purple Rain, across the 10-tracks strands of ideas appear, sink and re-emerge in an almost modal jazz manner. Clear Shot sees TOY working both in bigger colours and more minutely crafted detail, achieving an altogether higher level of artistry than before.

Artist TOY