Aquatic Flowers

  • Tristen - Aquatic Flowers
4th June 2021 / LP or CD / Mama Bird Recording Co.


Aquatic Flowers


'Aquatic Flowers' is the fourth full-length album from beloved Nashville songwriter Tristen, brimming with incisive pop-folk tracks ruminating on the ways we attempt to feel in-control of a chaotic world, the past that informs us, and how to let go in order to grow.

Making rock and roll music in Nashville, the mononymous songwriter has established herself as a prolific and introspective musician over the past decade. With a knack for crafting “hooky arrangements that tickle the ear and won’t leave your brain alone” (NPR), she has collaborated with artists like Vanessa Carlton (she co-wrote Carlton’s latest album 'Love is an Art') and Jenny Lewis (playing in the 'Voyager' touring band), and opened to critical acclaim for artists ranging from Robyn Hitchcock to Television.

Tristen and her husband Buddy Hughen recorded and produced the record in their home studio Tight Squeeze. “I had a real desire to not overcomplicate things for this record, to get really close to what I have given in the past to my demos, which for me is the most inspired time of making something, right in the beginning, feeling it the most at that moment because you just wrote it and it’s on your mind.”

1. Complex
2. Die 4 Love
3. I Need Your Love
4. Wrong With You
5. Hothouse Flower
6. Athena
7. Cool Blue
8. Julian
9. Story of Love
10. Some Things Must Die
11. Say Goodnight

Format /LP or CD
Released /4th June 2021
Catalogue / MB043LP2
Barcode / 196006048631
Artist / Tristen
  • Preview
  • Shipping Info
  • About Drift
  • Recommends

In the UK we offer Royal Mail Tracked 24/48®, Click & Collect at the shop and Free Shipping on orders over £85.

Worldwide we ship with International Business Parcel Tracked and DHL.

+ Full information on our shipping options can be read here.
+ There is a shipping calculator in the basket to give you a clear guide of our rates and available services based on your location.

Shipping Partners

Drift is the award-winning independent record shop in Totnes, Devon. We have been gliding through life to the beat of our own drum since the mid-nineties and online since 2010. You can read all about us here. Come meet us, or have us ship you something in the post.

Nominated 'Best Independent Retailer' at the Music Week Awards in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Nominated "Indie Champions" at the 2015 AIM Awards.

Drift Recommends

Our favourite tracks here at the shop. Updated weekly.