Myriam Gendron - Mayday

Rich darkness infused with powerful light.

Mayday is the third LP by Montreal-based artist, Myriam Gendron, following her earlier, critically-acclaimed albums, ‘Not So Deep As A Well’ (2014) and ‘Ma délire - Songs of love, lost & found’ (2021). Myriam explores the complex folk traditions of Quebec (and beyond), combining traditional and original songs with arrangements that make space for avant-garde musical interludes by such folks as guitarist Bill Nace (Body/Head) and renowned jazz percussionist Chris Corsano. 


Mayday presents an even more syncretic fusion of the elements Myriam uses to create her sound. Most of the songs are original, sung in both English and French, and they blend traditional and avant elements with abandon. She is often accompanied on this album by the guitarist Marisa Anderson and drummer Jim White (Dirty Three, Xylouris White), whose work provides a quietly aggressive sort of free-rock base. Additional players include Montreal bassist Cédric Dind-Lavoie, Bill Nace and saxophonist Zoh Amba. The album is a thoroughly thrilling effort that manages to create new vistas of sound while maintaining a feel that is both intimate and familiar. The music here certainly possesses a richly serious tone, but Myriam Gendron (like Leonard Cohen) is able to infuse her darkness with a subtle, powerful light that reminds us that even the most pitch-black night is but a transitional state.


• Available in indie-exclusive opaque green colour vinyl.


1. There Is No East Or West
2. Long Way Home
3. Terres brûlées
4. Dorothy’s Blues
5. La Luz
6. La belle Françoise (pour Sylvie)
7. Lully Lullay
8. Look Down That
9. Lonesome Road
10. Quand j’étais jeune et belle
11. Berceuse

Release Info

Release Date: 10th May 2024
Format: LP, CD
Label: Thrill Jockey

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty