This product is a Pre Order and is scheduled to be released 7th June 2024

This product is available on preorder with a limited discounted price.

Margo Guryan - Words and Music


This product is available on pre order with a limited discounted price.

A baroque pop masterpiece
Witness to revolutions in jazz and pop, Margo Guryan earned her place in the songwriting pantheon and then some. That she was largely unknown for decades is not the stuff of crushed dreams, but a result of her own choices and priorities. From humble beginnings to the peaks of her 1968 baroque pop masterpiece Take a Picture and the collected Demos, to the recent viral ubiquity of “Why Do I Cry”, Words and Music captures the entirety of Guryan’s career, featuring 16 previously unreleased recordings and a 32-page booklet telling the whole story.

• Available in limited-edition 'think of rain' colour triple vinyl with 32-page booklet.


1. If I Lose
2. You Promised
3. The Wise Man
4. The Morning After
5. Moon Ride
6. More Understanding
Than a Man
7. More Understanding
Than a Man (Instrumental)
8. There I Was

1. Kiss & Tell
2. Half-Way In Love
3. Goodbye July
4. Four Letter Words
5. Hurry On Home
6. I Ought To Stay Away
From You
7. I Love
8. Under My Umbrella
9. I Don’t Intend To Spend
Christmas Without You

1. Sunday Morning
2. Thoughts
3. Love Songs
4. Don’t Go Away
5. Take A Picture
6. Sun
7. What Can I Give You
8. Come To Me Slowly

1. The 8.17 Northbound
Success Merry-Go-Round
2. Something’s Wrong With
The Morning
3. Think Of Rain
4. Can You Tell
5. Someone I Know
6. Love

1. Why Do I Cry
2. Spanky And Our Gang
3. Most Of My Life
4. It’s Alright Now
5. Timothy Gone
6. The Hum
7. Please Believe Me
8. Yes I Am

1. I Think A Lot About You
2. I’d Like To See The Bad
Guys Win
3. Values
4. California Shake
5. Hold Me Dancin’
6. Shine
7. Goodbye July

Release Info

Release Date: 7th June 2024
Format: 3LP, 2CD
Label: Numero Group

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked® and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

Pre Order FAQ

When is this released?

Margo Guryan - Words and Music is available for Pre Order now and has a scheduled release date of 7th June 2024.

In the event of any delays to this date, we will try to keep this page updated in the '⚠ Updates' tab.

When will I get it?

We ship pre order items to arrive with you on or as close as possible to release day. We are limited naturally by when the stock arrives with us in Totnes, but we work hard to ship them in a timely fashion.

⚠ If you make a purchase from Drift that includes both Pre Order titles and in-stock titles, we will ship your entire order as one when all items are released. Read More.

What is the discount?

Every Pre Order product has a discount of between 10% and 15%. This is already factored into the price and will revert to full RRP during the week of release.


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty