Gábor Szabó - 1969


Recorded and released that year, 1969 is an album of (almost entirely) cover versions of contemporary and classic popular tunes from Hungarian guitarist Gábor Szabó. Here, he brings a refreshing jazz perspective to songs from The BeatlesJoni Mitchell and others, capped off by a solitary Szabó original, ‘Somewhere I Belong’.

Gábor Szabó was one of the most original guitarists to emerge in the 1960s, mixing his Hungarian folk music heritage with a deep love of jazz and crafting a distinctive, largely self-taught sound. Born in Budapest, on March 8, 1936, Szabo was inspired by a Roy Rogers cowboy movie to begin playing guitar when he was 14 and often played in dinner clubs and covert jam sessions while still living in his hometown. He escaped from his country at age 20 on the eve of the Communist uprising and eventually made his way to America, settling with his family in California.


• 2023 reissue.
• Housed in Gatefold Sleeve.


1. Dear Prudence
2. Sealed With A Kiss
3. Both Sides Now 5
4. Walk Away Renee
5. You Won't See Me
6. Michael From Mountains
7. Stormy
8. In My Life
9. I've Just Seen A Face
10. Until It's Time For You To Go
11. Somewhere I Belong

Release Info

Release Date: 23rd February 2023
Format: LP
Label: Ebalunga!!!

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty