The Cat’s Miaow - Skipping Stones: The Cassette Years ‘92-’93

Full of surprises and rich detours

The Cat’s Miaow return to World Of Echo with Skipping Stones: The Cassette Years ’92-’93, their second compilation for the imprint. It’s a smart selection of songs by one of Australia’s finest independent pop music groups, whose initial run, across the nineties, was as mysterious as it was bewitching.

A generous double album featuring thirty-five songs drawn from The Cat’s Miaow’s history, skipping Stones lets listeners in on a bunch more secrets. An even deeper pass through the archives of The Cat’s Miaow, Skipping Stones is a welcome follow-up to 2022’s Songs ’94-’98, which pulled together material from seven-inch singles and compilations. The four cassettes that Skipping Stones draws from – Little Baby Sour Puss, Pet Sounds (both 1992), From My Window, and How Did Everything Get So Fucked Up (both 1993) – were released or assisted by Toytown, a Melbourne cassette label of rare taste, savvy and intelligence, run by Wayne Davidson. Diving into the four cassettes, Skipping Stones is full of surprises, rich with unexpected and inspired detours, while reminding everyone just how clear and distinct The Cat’s Miaow’s music was from the very start.

Looking in from the outside, they always felt like a group that knew just what they were doing, but intuitive as they are, they weren’t forcing anything: these songs always sound exactly what they need to be, rough edges, playful moments and all. It's also a fascinating snapshot of one arm of the ‘international pop underground’. Like those before them, The Cat’s Miaow balanced opposing forces in their music: naivete and knowingness; fragility and strength; worldliness and world-weariness; play and seriousness; heartache and pleasure.

This double LP on World Of Echo feels like the very core of the thing – some of the most heartbreakingly beautiful, effortlessly lush and deeply moving pop music you’re likely to hear.


A ~ How Did Everything Get So Fucked Up?
1. Make A Wish
2. Hollow Inside (original cassette version)
3. Faded (original cassette version)
4. Not Like I Was Doing Anything (original cassette version)
5. Disappointed
6. I Wanted None of This
7. Fire Damage
8. Halo

B ~ From My Window
1. Aurora
2. It Might Never Happen
3. Nothing's Ever Quite That Simple
4. Brighter Star
5. The Phoebe I Know (original cassette version)
6. Little and Small
7. Sleepyhead
8. Dust From A Memory
9. A 50s Ballad
10. A Few Words
11. From My Window

C ~ Pet Sounds
1. Third Floor Fire Escape View (original cassette version)
2. You Left A Note On The Table (original cassette version)
3. Short Sighted (original cassette version)
4. I Hate Myself More Than You Do
5. Talking To Trees
6. Ice Cream
7. Saviour For The Hurrying Man
8. Ferry No. 6

D ~ Little Baby Sour Puss
1. Nothing New (original cassette version)
2. Climb My Stairs (original cassette version)
3. Autumn (original cassette version)
4. I Really Don’t Know (original cassette version)
5. Sunday
6. Memphis ‘54
7. Walk On By
8. Georgie

Release Info

Release Date: 3rd May 2024
Format: 2LP
Label: World of Echo

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty