ROTW: Porridge Radio, Four Tet, Dungen, The Districts and Porches.

ROTW: Porridge Radio, Four Tet, Dungen, The Districts and Porches.

A week of excellent new things for your stereo. It's all dead catchy.

Hello, Friends.

Our Record of the Month for March 2020 is Every Bad, the new album from Porridge Radio. Centred around the songwriting and incredible presence of Dana Margolin, Every Bad is an album of emotionally tense and brutally raw music. They have kept all of the energy that made them such a DIY phenomenon and have really taken the sound somewhere else; big, brash and really engaging. 

+ We have an indie shop version that's pressed on limited milky white coloured vinyl. We also - whilst stocks last - will be giving out a very limited 7" single with all copies of the LP.

+ The band join us on the Saturday of Sea Change.

Our Record of the Week for this fairly bonkers-looking new dawn is the utterly lush new Four Tet album Sixteen Oceans. The beat making and production is just wonderful. It simultaneously sounds vast and epic, whilst every little bubble and pop is in extreme close up. It's like floating through space, it really is sonic bliss. Ellie Goulding's guest vocal on Baby is a real standout moment, but the way the mood progresses through the album really is masterful.

Now the bad news. The CD is in stock, but we're afraid the LP had an issue during manufacture. We don't have an exact date, but the team are working hard to have LP copies with us ASAP. Keep you all posted. The artwork is lush... We'll post a full picture of it on release day morning!

Genuine wizards. 'Dungen Live' is a document of a band playing with and beyond time, passionately reviving a slowly storied history of sound. A captivating ride captured and collaged from two shows in their native Sweden and assembled into one piece of continuous music by producer Matthias Glava. We'll bang on for hours to anyone who'll listen about how amazing this band is, but even to us - as mega fans - it's thrilling stuff to hear them unpack, evolve and blur their songs live. Highly recommended.

Four Tet at Drift

The Districts return with new LP You Know I'm Not Going Anywhere and there has been a really exciting shift here. Whilst remaining anthemic, they have incorporated sections of ambience and some big atmospherics. It was all produced by the band and frequent collaborator Keith Abrams and mixed by Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, Spoon, MGMT, Tame Impala).

+ Limited Indie version LP is pressed on bubblegum coloured vinyl.

Porches, a.k.a. Aaron Maine, is back with a new album titled Ricky Music. Featuring contributions from Mitski, Zsela, Dev Hynes and Jacob Portrait co-producing. That production really is special you know, high-art pop songs that are emotionally open and brilliantly fragile.

+ Deluxe Indies only LP edition includes a bonus 7"

Circa Waves return with their fourth studio album Sad Happy, it is formed of two diametrically distinctive sides - the first half of the record contains the 'Happy' tracks, the latter the 'Sad' tracks. 

+ Limited edition deluxe double LP is pressed on gold coloured vinyl.

Iconic songwriter Maria McKee releases her new solo LP La Vita Nuova after some fifteen year hiatus. Rich, melodramatic country with a distinctly old folk twist to it. Great stuff.

+ Limited edition Indies only Double White Vinyl in Gatefold sleeve. CD is Limited Edition Bookback CD.

GRAMMY-winning producer/engineer/musician Nigel Godrich, drummer Joey Waronker and singer Laura Bettinson return collectively as Ultraísta with the new Sister LP on Partisan Records. 

+ LP format on black vinyl, mastered at half speed with a download card.

Deap Lips is Wayne & Steven from The Flaming Lips with Julie & Lindsey from Deap Vally.

+ Indie exclusive edition on solid white vinyl.

Written over the course of two years and recorded whilst heavily pregnant between Galway and Oslo in the winter of 2019, Hilary Woods' - Birthmarks has been a labour of intensity and intuition. 

+ Limited edition LP is pressed on red vinyl.

We're expecting a very tasty box to land from the USA soon with some new magazines, it'll also be including The Goners' Good Mourning and L.A. Takedown's Our Feeling of Natural High. Both are utterly mega and will be played to death on the stereo.

Drift Record Shop

Some great reissues this week, with the first Calvin Johnson solo album, What Was Me, back on wax. It was originally released in 2002 and has been remastered by Adam Gonsalves at Telegraph Mastering. Love seeing K Records back in black.

A double Espers reissue on Drag City with the self titled debut Espers and the following The Weed Tree. Such a great band, the harmonies of Meg Baird and Greg Weeks are special special stuff.

Another double Blue Note week with double drummers Elvin Jones' Mr. Jones, and Art Taylor's AT’s Delight. Has to be said, both of these sound fantastic for those of you who like to play them nice and loud.

Lastly today, we have the 20th anniversary edition pressing of the first full-length recording by Early Day MinersPlacer Found has been a real joy to discover (yeah, we didn't know much about it to be perfectly honest) and the Indiana post-rockers really created quite the mood. 

Record Store Day 2020 at Drift info is online here, we'll keep updating what we're stocking this month but do let us know your wish lists as it helps us navigate the choppy RSD waters.

We'll stick a weekly playlist on our blog and socials later on.

- Drift


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend €85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty