Various Artists - Eccentric Soul: The Forte Label


From 1967-1980, Kansas City’s Forte Records captured nearly every iteration of popular Black music; basement beehiver-y from The Ray-Ons and Four Darlings, funky soul from Gene Williams Lee Harris, Louis Chachere, and The Fantastiks, downtempo disco ballads from James W hitney and Sharon Revoal, and the newly independent work of James Brown’s former Soul Sister #1 Marva Whitney. Compiled here are 28 of the label’s enduring sides, contextualised with copious photos, ephemera, and essay, all housed in heavy weight gatefold jacket. Who knows how to do “The Hen”?


• Available in 'Teardrop' (opaque dark blue) colour vinyl.


1. Gene Williams - Don’t Let Your Love Fade Away
2. Lee Harris - I Am Gonna Get Your Thing
3. Tear Drops - I’m Gonna Get You
4. Louis Chachere - The Hen Pt 1
5. The Fantasticks - Cry Night And Day
6. Marva W. Taylor - I’ve Lived The Life
7. The Fabulous Rhythm Makers - Mini, Mini Afro Twist

1. Tony Ashley And The Delicates - I’ll Never Be Satisfied
2. The Rayons - You Confuse Me Baby
3. The Four Darlings - Baby Your Love Is Amazing
4. Lee Harris - Lookin’ Good
5. Marva Whitney - Daddy Don’t Know About Sugar Bear
6. Gene Williams - Whatever You Do (Do It Good)
7. Everyday People - Is It Really That Bad

1. The Rayons - Baby Be Good
2. Tony Ashley And The Delicates - All Along I’ve Loved You
3. Lee Harris - I’ve Got To Have Somebody’s Love
4. Everyday People - Super Black
5. James Whitney - With Fun In My Life
6. Sharon Revoal - Reaching For Our Star
7. Marva W. Taylor - Nothing I’d Rather Be (Than Your Weakness)

1. The Four Darlings - Give Me Love
2. Unknown Artist - Dearest Lover
3. The Fantasticks - Live And Let Live
4. The Fabulous Rhythm Makers - Ya Gotta Be Doing It
5. Lee Harris - Skate Boogaloo And Karate Too
6. Tear Drops - Don’t Fade Away
7. Marva Whitney And Ellis “Gripey” Taylor - We Need More (But Somebody Gotta Sacrifce)

Release Info

Release Date: 2nd February 2024
Format: 2LP
Label: Numero Group

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty