L'Rain - I Killed Your Dog


Multi-instrumentalist, composer, performer and curator L’Rain (Taja Cheek) returns with her third album I Killed Your Dog.


Over-writing themes of grief and identity that informed her previous work, I Killed Your Dog considers what it means to hurt the people you love the most. Multi-layered in subject and form, L’Rain’s sonic explorations interrogate instead how multiplicities of emotion and experience intersect with identity. The experimental and the hyper-commercial; the expectation and the reality; the hope and the despair.


“I’m envisioning a world of contradictions, as always” Cheek explains. “Sensual, maybe even sexy, but terrifying, and strange.”


Written amidst heartbreaks from the perspective of an earned maturity, I Killed Your Dog takes the sonic world laid out by L’Rain in 2021’s album Fatigue on a compelling new trajectory.


Available in Limited-Edition Indie-Exclusive Oxblood Colour Vinyl.


1. Sincerity Commercial
2. Our Funeral
3. Pet Rock
4. I Hate My Best Friends
5. I Killed Your Dog
6. All The Days You Remember
7. 5 to 8 Hours a Day (WWwaG)

1. Sometimes
2. r(EMOTE)
3. Uncertainty Principle
4. Oh Wow a Bird
5. Knead Bee
6. Monsoon of Regret
7. Clumsy
8. What’s That Song?
9. New Year’s unResolution

Release Info

Release Date: 13th October 2023
Format: LP
Label: Mexican Summer

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.
"With an elliptical and bewitching new album, Taja Cheek turns her expansive, introspective compositions toward surreal humor and playfulness."

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty