M. Ward - Duets for Guitar #2


Duet for Guitars #2 introduced us to M. Ward’s characteristic rasp and fingerpicking prowess. More minimal in scope than future records, the songs run the gamut from lullabies to rocking declarations of love.


Released on Co-Dependent Records in 1999, one of the initial 1,000 copies found its way to Howe Gelb, who re-released it in 2000 on Ow Om. It went out of print and remained a hard-to-find piece of the M. Ward catalog until 2007, when it was reissued on Merge with three new tracks. More than an origin story, Duet for Guitars #2 is a beautiful, assured album that is sure to make lo-fi and Americana aficionados swoon, to say nothing of M. Ward fans new and old.



• Available in Indie-Exclusive Opaque Beige Vinyl in a chipboard jacket with spot gloss detail w/ printed sleeve and insert for full album download.


1. Duet for Guitars #2
2. Beautiful Car
3. Fishing Boat Song
4. Scene from #12
5. Good News
6. The Crooked Spine
7. Look Me Over

8. Who May Be Lazy
9. It Won’t Happen Twice
10. He Asked Me to Be a Snake & Live Underground
11. Song from Debby’s Stairs
12. It Was a Beautiful Car
13. Were You There?
14. Not a Gang
15. Duet for Guitars #1

Release Info

Release Date: 26th January 2024
Format: LP
Label: Merge

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty