Speakers Corner Quartet - Further Out Than The Edge

Collaboration and community, an absolutely huge record from the London collective.
The journey of South London collective Speakers Corner Quartet to where they are today has been a self-less, community driven calling. Starting as the house band at the legendary Brixton spoken word and hip hop night Speakers Corner in 2006, they spent the following decade backing up other artists and helping them shape their visions – both in live performances and in the studio. The list is extensive, but notable collaborations include Sampha, Kae Tempest, Tirzah, Dean Blunt, the late MF DOOM, and Lianne La Havas. This period honed their craft and versatility as multi-instrumentalist producers, but also shaped their values, building profound long-term relationships in music that comes full circle on their debut album, Further Out Than The Edge.

The quartet is Biscuit on flute, Kwake Bass on drums & percussion, Raven Bush on violin, and Peter Bennie on bass - with a whole bunch of synths and unique toys to boot. Further Out Than The Edge features an extensive list of friends and family, most of who happen to be some of the most exciting names in independent music: Tirzah, Kelsey Lu, Shabaka Hutchings, Coby Sey, Sampha, Kae Tempest, Mica Levi, Joe Armon-Jones, Lawfawndah, Léa Sen, and more.

A1 On Grounds (feat. Coby Sey)
A2 Acute Truth (feat. Kelsey Lu)
A3 fix (feat. Tirzah)
A4 Wavelet (feat. Confucius MC & Joe Armon-Jones)

B1 Dreaded ! (feat. Léa Sen)
B2 Geronimo Blues (feat. Kae Tempest)
B3 Can We Do This? (feat. Sampha)

C1 Soapbox Soliloquy (feat. LEILAH)
C2 Hither Green (feat. James Massiah)
C3 Round Again (feat. Tawiah)

D1 Behind The Sun (feat. Lafawndah & Trustfall)
D2 Shabz Needs Sun (feat. Shabaka Hutchings)
D3 Karainagar (feat. Mica Levi)

Release Info

Release Date: 2nd June 2023
Format: 2LP or CD
Label: OTIH Records

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked® and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.

EXPLORE Curated music collections, latest recommendations; everything that you need to know!

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...


👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping Spend $85 for free UK shipping
No more products available for purchase

Your basket is empty