Basket 0

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are $85 away from free shipping.
No more products available for purchase

Leave a note for us...
Leave a gift message
View Basket
Continue to the checkout to apply any gift cards or discount codes and to review shipping and collection options.

Your basket is empty

The Dream Machine - Small Time Monsters

Currently good stock Limited stock Currently unavailable

‘Small Time Monsters’ is the second full-length album from The Dream Machine.

If 2022’s critically-acclaimed debut album ‘Thank God! It’s The Dream Machine…’ was their first and most wild child, then ‘Small Town Monsters’ is its refined younger sibling. The psychedelia, euphoric choruses, flashes of surf guitar and B-movie references are all there, amongst the familiar reflections of life in their beloved and faded seaside town of New Brighton, but this time the wilder elements are controlled, the songs packed into three-minute, pocket symphonies. 

Lead single Frankenstein is an anthem for the sugar-rush generation, an infectious, rattling earworm that recalls everything from haunted rockabilly to the sun-drenched melodies of Blossoms. Elsewhere on the album, the pulsating surf-stomp of ‘Cindy’s Eyes’, a small-town story of unrequited love, has a chorus to fill the most cavernous arena. 

Produced by The Coral’s James Skelly, the album was partially recorded at The Dream Machine’s rehearsal space, then stitched together in Skelly’s Kempston Street Studios. There’s a refined, more literary quality to singer and primary songwriter Zak McDonnell’s lyrics; explorations of everyday life, teenage doom, B-movie monsters, family turmoil, and coming-of-age tales in the familiar backdrop of life in modern Britain. ‘Small Town Monsters’ is the sound of a band breaking free from the small town into the big world.

Edition Info

• Dinked Edition 296
• “Yellow Magick” coloured vinyl*
• Bonus “Colonel Mustard” coloured 2 track 7” *
• Signed photo print *
• Numbered edition *
• Limited pressing of 500 *

* EXCLUSIVE to Dinked Edition


Side A
1. Frankenstein
2. Cindy’s Eyes
3. My Father’s Son
4. Holding On
5. Cathedral

Side B
6. Tonight, I’ve Got Heaven In My Arms
7. Posters Of You
8. Wind-Up Bird
9. The Horse
10. Wolfman
11. Bring Back the wonder

Bonus 7”
1. Little Baby
2. Please Stay

Released 12th July 2024

Shipping & Delivery

Drift gladly ship all items Worldwide using Royal Mail Tracked®, FedEx and DHL services. There is a shipping calculator available in the basket. Read More

Click & Collect

Available on all orders from Drift. Select the Click & Collect option during the checkout process. Read More.

UK Free Shipping

We offer free delivery on orders of £85 and over, sent within mainland UK. To qualify for free delivery, your order will be sent as one dispatch. Read More.

Global Shipping & Tax

If you are based outside the UK and EU, all prices will appear without tax at the checkout. Drift is IOSS registered and collects tax on all EU orders at point of purchase. Read More.
Earn 1 Point on this purchase. Learn more
[{"variant_id":"48522178593052" , "metafield_value":""},{"variant_id":"48522178625820" , "metafield_value":""},{"variant_id":"48522178658588" , "metafield_value":""},{"variant_id":"48522178691356" , "metafield_value":""}]

The Dream Machine - Small Time Monsters

👌 Your order qualifies for free shipping You are just $85 away from free UK shipping!

MUSIC A new homepage to help you find exactly what you're looking for...